February 2, 2023

SCA Board of Councilors Welcomes Home Powerhouse Alumni for a New Era of Leadership and Impact 

Hollywood heavyweights and USC School of Cinematic Arts' alums Ryan Coogler and Tracy Oliver are returning to their alma mater to join the USC School of Cinematic Arts Board of Councilors! Known for blockbuster hits such as Black Panther: Wakanda Forever and Girls Trip, they bring their expertise and influence to help guide the School's future direction. SCA is set for an exciting new chapter with Ryan and Tracy on board.

Ryan Coogler ’11, a graduate of the MFA, Film, and Television Production Program, and Tracy Oliver '10, a graduate of the Peter Stark Producing Program, are the youngest alumni to join the School’s Board of Councilors leading a new generation of advisors. They join notable industry icons on the Board including Chairman Donna Langley, Chair Emeritus Frank Price, Sarah Bond, Kevin Feige, David Geffen, Jim Gianopulos, Brian Grazer, Jeffrey Katzenberg, Kathleen Kennedy, George Lucas, Bill M. Mechanic, Shonda Rhimes, John Riccitiello, Steven Spielberg, Kevin Tsujihara, John Wells, and Robert Zemeckis.

“USC’s School of Cinematic Arts was where I learned the skills that I have utilized every day for over a decade of work in this industry,” states Coogler. “I’m incredibly grateful to Dean Daley, Kevin Feige, and Donna Langley for this esteemed opportunity, and I am excited to be joining alongside my friend Tracy Oliver, who has blazed her own incredible trail in film and television. I look forward to working with them and the other distinguished members of the board to support SCA’s continued pursuit of building the best environment for their students.”



“Attending USC's School of Cinematic Arts forever changed my trajectory in the best way possible,” states Tracy Oliver. “As a proud alum, I'm very honored to be joining this esteemed board, alongside so many people I admire and excited to reunite with my old film school buddy, Ryan Coogler, whose incredible work inspired me back then and continues to today. Thank you, Elizabeth Daley, Kevin Feige, and Donna Langley for personally welcoming me.”