Coronavirus Updates: USC  |  SCA

Directory Profile

« Back to Directory

Michael Toshiyuki Uno, M.F.A.

Associate Professor

Affiliated Divisions:

Division of Film & Television Production
Summer Program

Office: SCA 434

Professor Michael Toshiyuki Uno has directed 15 movies for cable or television, with one theatrical release and 12 episodic, shorts and specials.

His AFI thesis film was nominated for Academy Award for Live Action Short in 1982.

Since then, his work has received: three nominations from Independent Feature Project West, now FilmIndependent, including Best First Feature; 15 Cable ACE Award nominations with two wins and five Emmy nominations with two wins.

Uno has also received a Golden Globe Award, a DGA Award nomination, Best Television Feature at the San Francisco International Film Festival, an NAACP Image Award with a second nomination and a SAG Award nomination.

Uno has directed such award-worthy actors as: Joan Allen, Laura Linney, David Strathairn, Cicely Tyson, Joanne Woodward, Wesley Snipes, Beau Bridges, Piper Laurie, Tess Harper, Eric Roberts, Stephen Root and Michelle Williams; and such distinguished notables as: Rick Schroder, Vanessa Bell Calloway, Crystal Bernard, Clifton Powell, Doug Savant, Penny Johnson, Gary Cole, Nicollette Sheridan, Kyle Chandler, Jason Priestley, Jenny Garth, Luke Perry, Katie Holmes, James Van Der Beek and Joshua Jackson.

Uno is a founding member of the Independent Directors Committee of the Directors Guild of America. He is currently involved in Independent Documentary feature production, long-form television & feature film scriptwriting and project development.