Coronavirus Updates: USC  |  SCA
School of Cinematic Arts (SCA) 320

CTCS-466: Theatrical Film Symposium (4 units)
Section: 18125R - Does not require D-Clearance

Theatrical Film Symposium, taught by world renown film critic Leonard Maltin, brings you face-to-face with leading film directors, writers, producers, and actors working today. Each week, students watch sneak previews of upcoming movies, followed by exclusive Q&As with the creative teams behind the films. 2019/2020 screenings included Project Power, Residue, Charm City Kings, The Trial of the Chicago 7, Boys State, The Devil All the Time, The Half of It, Sergio, Knives Out, Marriage Story, Frozen II, Queen & Slim, Little Women, Dolemite is My Name, Gemini Man, Ad Astra, Birds of Prey, and Onward. Guests in recent years include Auli'i Cravalho, Henry Joost & Ariel Schulman, Barry Jenkins, Isabel Sandoval, Antonio Campos, Merawi Gerima, Chloe Grace Moretz, Melina Matsoukas, Joe & Anthony Russo, Guillermo del Toro, Benedict Wong, Zazie Beetz, Errol Morris, James Gray, Rian Johnson, Damien Chazelle, Taika Waititi, Lee Unkrich, JJ Abrams, Ryan Coogler, Sylvester Stallone, Patricia Riggen, Kevin Feige, and Judd Apatow.

CTCS-467: Television Symposium (4 units)
Section: 18126R - Does not require D-Clearance

Taught by Mary McNamara, Pulitzer-prize winning TV Critic and Cultural Editor for the LA Times. Each week, students meet with current TV Creators and Showrunners for Q&As about writing and producing their shows. Recent guests include: Susan Downey & Tim Van Patten (Perry Mason), Raamla Mohamed (Little Fires Everywhere), Jon Mantello (The Boys in the Band), Eric Kripke (The Boys), Jay Roach & Sarah Paulson (Coastal Elites), Prentice Penny (Insecure), Kerry Ehrin (The Morning Show), Jon Favreau (The Mandalorian), Adam McKay (Succession), Alena Smith (Dickinson), Stephen Williams (Watchmen), Chris Mundy (Ozark), Susannah Grant (Unbelievable), David Mandel (Veep), Steven Canals (Pose), Sam Levinson (Euphoria), Raphael Bob-Waksberg & Kate Purdy (Undone), Marti Noxon (Sharp Objects), David Kajganich (The Terror), Tanya Saracho (Vida), Matt Duffer & Ross Duffer (Stranger Things), Liz Flahive & Carly Mensch (Glow), Hiro Murai (Atlanta), Noah Hawley (Fargo), Ron Moore (Outlander), and Kenya Barris (black-ish).