Hot Sheet February - March 2018

View: News - Films - TV Shows


Gregg Araki ‘85 is set to co-write, direct and co-executive produce a new show for Starz titled Now Apocalypse.

Matthew Cervi ‘98 has produced the feature film Juggernaut about a man who seeks revenge over his mother’s death.

Connor Ellmann ’17 won the ASC Haskell Wexler Student Award, Documentary Category for his project Forever Home.

Paul Feig ’84 is set to produce and direct the new half-hour comedy pilot Girl Code at Freefrom. He is also launching Powederkeg, a digital content company that aims to provide a platform for female and LGBTQ creators and filmmakers of color.

Namina Forna ’13 has had the North American book rights to her new YA trilogy bought by Delacorte Press.

Nahnatchka Khan ‘94 is set to direct a new romantic comedy for Netflix starring Ali Wong and Randall Park.

Shawn Levy ’94 is producing a new coming of age/slasher film for Netflix with James Wan co-producing and directing.

Tina Mabry ’05 has been tapped to adapt Code of Silence, a feature for MWM Studios. The film is based on the true story of a Chicago PD whistleblower.

Zahir McGhee ‘09 has signed a two-year overall deal with ABC Studios to develop new projects and work on existing series such as For the People and Scandal, for which he serves as co-executive producer.

Jen McGowan ‘05 had her TV show Angelica selected to play at MIPTV Cannes, the only U.S. show to be selected. She serves as writer and producer.

Neal Moritz ‘85 will produce the science fiction film Infinite for Sony.

Casey Wilder Mott '11 wrote, directed and produced A Midsummer Night’s DREAM, which played at the Sun Valley Film Festival.

Robert Osher ‘81 has been named as the new COO & General Counsel at Miramax.

Natalie Qasabian ’14 produced two films -- All About Nina and Duck Butter -- which have been selected to play at the Tribeca Film Festival. All About Nina also features SCA alumni producer Eric Fleischman ’11 and editor Saira Haider ’14.

Allison Raskin ‘11 wrote a new 12-part fictional comedic soap opera podcast titled Gossip, which is expected to drop in June.

Matt Reeves ‘88 and his production company 6th and Idaho will produce the feature adaptation of the short story Epoch Index at Fox. Brad Peyton is set to direct.

Pat Resnick ’75 is developing a sequel/reboot to her 1980s comedy 9 to 5, which starred Jane Fonda, Dolly Parton, and Lily Tomlin. Shawn Levy ’94 and his company 21 Laps are producing.

Ben Strang ‘14 directed the short film Beast, which won Best Independent Episodic at SXSW. He was joined by a slew of alumni who worked on the film as well, including: Jason Michael Berman ’06, Jonathan Maurer ’14, David Bolen ’13, Manuel Crosby ’14, Eitan Almagor ’13, Eseraele Alemu ’17, Sean Higgins ’12, Chantal Nchako ’16 and Haley Beasley ’17.

Rawson Thurber ’99 with Universal Pictures and Legendary have picked up Thurber’s new action film Red Notice. The film will be another star vehicle for Dwayne  “The Rock” Johnson and will continue his partnership with Thurber.

James Vanderbilt ’99 will write the script for Murder Mystery, the new Netflix comedy starring Adam Sandler and Jennifer Anniston.

New TV Shows on the Air

Altered Carbon
David Ellison (Executive Producer)
Russel Friend ‘95 (Writer-Executive Producer)
Garrett Lerner ‘95 (Writer-Executive Producer)
James Vanderbilt ‘99(Executive Producer)

Chris Fedak ‘98 (Writer-Executive Producer)

For the People
Shonda Rhimes ‘94 (Executive Producer)

David Goyer ‘88 (Writer-Executive Producer)

Looming Tower
Craig Zisk (Director-Executive Producer)

Station 19
Shonda Rhimes ‘94 (Writer-Executive Producer)

The Terror
Soo Hugh ‘06 (Writer-Executive Producer)
Gina Welch (Writer-Co-Executive Producer)

New Films in Release

Black Panther
Ryan Coogler ‘11 (Writer-Director)
Kevin Feige ‘95 (Producer)
Michael Shawver ‘12 (Editor)

Early Man
Paul Kewley ‘97 (Co-Executive Producer)

Fifty Shades Freed
James Foley ‘79 (Director)
John Schwartzman (Director of Photography)
Debra Neil-Fisher ‘80 (Editor)

Max Winkler ‘06 (Writer-Director)
Matt Spicer ‘06 (Writer-Producer)
Eric Fleischmann ‘11 (Producer)
Alyssa Murphy ‘15 (Associate Producer)

Midnight Sun
Scott Speer ‘04 (Director)
Tia Nolan ‘91 (Editor)

Ready Player One
Gary Rydstrom ‘81 (Sound)
Addison Teague ‘02 (Sound)