Hot Sheet November - December 2012


Aaron Allen ’09 has been named Story Editor on TNT’s Dallas.

John August ‘94 will write the film adaptation of R.J. Palacio’s bestselling pre-teen novel Wonder.

Victoria Aveyard ’12 has signed with Benderspink and received her first feature rewrite assignment. She is also working with producers to develop a teen novel.

Peter Brown ’95 won an Emmy Award for Sound Editing for his work on HBO’s Game of Thrones.

Jaclyn Chan ’09 is the head writer of The Kitchen Musical, a pan-Asian musical drama that has been awarded International Emmys in Best Actor and Best Drama Series, as well as Gold for Writing at New York Festivals. Other writers who worked on the show are: Brian Samuel Davis ’08; Lisa Di Trolio ’08; Omaira Galarza ’08; and Simon McNabb ’08.

Joey Chavez ’05 has been named on The Hollywood Reporter’s Next Generation Honoree List for 2012.

Ariana Delawari ’02 has premiered her documentary We Came Home, about her travels to Afghanistan in the years after 9/11, at the 2012 AFI Film Festival. The film also won the Jury Award for Best Documentary Film at the Sao Paulo International Film Festival.

Scott Derrickson ‘95 will direct the feature Beware the Night, a paranormal police thriller.

Megan Ellison will produce a feature adaptation of Park Chan-wook’s Sympathy for Lady Vengeance.

Ryan Engle ‘01 will write the film adaptation of the sci-fi thriller comic book The New West.

Kevin Feige ‘95 will receive the Motion Picture Showman of the Year award at the ICG Publicists Guild Awards in February.

Michael Flores ’08 has co-edited Last Will & Testament, Executive Produced by Roland Emmerich.

Sam Friedlander will direct the low-budget comedy Larry Gaye: Renegade Male Flight Attendant.

Tchavdar Georgiev ’00 has edited, and Yana Gorskaya ’02 has served as consulting editor for Valentine Road, to make its debut at the 2013 Sundance Film Festival.

Jonathan Glickman ‘00 has signed a new contract as president of the MGM Motion Picture Group, which extends his term to 2017.

Brian Grazer will produce the film adaptation of Peter Spiegelman’s heist thriller Thick as Thieves.

David Goyer ‘88 wrote the story for the recently released Call of Duty: Black Ops II video game. Goyer will also write the feature adaptation of the doomsday-thriller novel The Breach.

Grant Heslov ‘86 will produce and Chris Terrio ‘02 will write an untitled crime drama.

Zack Keller ’07 and Ed Skudder ’09 have been nominated for 2012 Annie Awards for Best Directing (Animation Television Production) for their web series Dick Figures (episode “Kung Fu Winners”).

Kevin LaNeave ’97 is the visual effects editor of the upcoming Universal release Oblivion, directed by Joe Kosinski.

David Jay Lasky ’03 will associate produce Of Corset’s Mine, to be directed by Jason Connery.

Shawn Levy ‘94 will produce the sci-fi thriller Story of Your Life.

Chuck Maclean ’11 has co-written Boston Strangler, a thriller about the search for a Boston-area killer in the 1960s, which was acquired by Warner Bros.

Lucky McKee ‘97 has written and will direct the supernatural thriller All Cheerleaders Die.

Moira McMahon Leeper ’02 has sold Maddox, a supernatural medical drama pilot she wrote, to NBC. Aaron Kaplan ’90 is executive producing.

Katie Mustard ‘01 will produce the indie ensemble comedy Growing Up (and Other Lies.

David Ian Salter ’92 is currently editing Spongebob Squarepants 2, after wrapping editing on Ice Age: Continental Drift.

Steven Douglas Smith ’91 has wrapped shooting as the Director of Photography for Scary Movie 5.

Tim Story ‘94 will direct the action comedy Ride Along.

Larry Stuckey ’93 has sold an untitled sibling comedy to ABC Television.

Steven Townsend ’06 has created, and Executive Produces, Gallery Girls for Bravo.

Steven Itano Wasserman ’10 was nominated for Best Directing (Comedy) for the 2013 International Academy of Web Television for his series Generic Girl.

Robert Zemeckis ‘73 will be honored by the 24th Palm Springs Film Festival as director of the year for his latest release Flight.

TV Shows

Beauty and the Beast
Gary Fleder '93, Executive Producer/Director
Brian Peterson, Executive Producer
Kelly Souders '97, Executive Producer

Marc Smerling, Executive Producer

Films in Release

Eric Aadahl ’98, Sound Designer/Supervising Sound Editor
Grant Heslov ’86, Producer
Chris Terrio ’02, Writer

Bullet to the Head
Alfred Gough ‘94, Producer
Miles Millar ‘94, Producer

The Collection
Kevin Greutert ‘88, Editor

Django Unchained
Stacey Sher ’85, Producer

Robert Zemeckis ’73, Producer/Director

Jack Reacher
Caleb Deschanel, Director of Photography
David Ellison, Producer

Ben Burtt ‘75, Sound Designer
Gary Rydstrom ‘81, Re-recording Mixer

The Man With the Iron Fists
Eric Newman, Producer

On the Road
Walter Salles, Director

This is 40
Judd Apatow, Producer/Writer/Director

The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn, Part 2
Melissa Rosenberg ‘90, Screenwriter

Zero Dark Thirty
Megan Ellison, Producer