Hot Sheet March-June 2012


Ten students from USC’s game design program - Blade Olson ’11; Andrew Ogden ’11; Larry Sequino ’11; Nick Brice ’11; Raunak Roy ’11; Danny Lum ’11; Jonathan Carmel ’11; Katelyn Endow ’11; David Sommer ’11; Patrick Shay ’11--have provided the concept for “DancePad,” a mobile app that will be released by Moonshark in conjunction with Jennifer Lopez.

Gregg Araki ’85 will direct White Bird for Why Not Prods.

Aaron Buchsbaum and Teddy Riley have sold feature film spec El Tigre to Sony.

Bryan Burk ’91 will co-produce a spec script, co-written by Matt Stuecken ’01, for Bad Robot.

Karen Croner ’87 will write the screenplay for comedy Admission for Focus Features.

RJ Cutlerwill executive produce and direct the ABC drama series Nashville.

Timothy Dowling ‘96 will write an untitled feature office comedy for DreamWorks.

Megan Ellison will produce an untitled Spike Jonze project through her Annapurna Pictures banner.

Andre Fabrizio ’02 and Jeremy Passmore ’04 have sold the pitch to sports action drama Ride to 20th Century Fox.

Paul Feig ’84 will direct an untitled buddy-cop movie for 20th Century Fox and Chernin Entertainment. He will also direct the feature romantic comedy The Better Woman, which is based on a story idea by Jen Smolka ‘00.

David Foster will produce the reimagining of the 1980’s feature film Short Circuit.

Dina Gachman ’07 has launched the online graphic novel website Fling Girl LA which is currently under negotiations for adaptation into a web series through Hulu.

Jonathan Glickman will produce a feature film adaptation of Steve Moore’s 2008 graphic novel Hercules: The Thracian War.

Brian Grazer ’74 and Ron Howard will executive produce the ABC sitcom How to Live with Your Parents for the Rest of Your Life. Grazer is also slated to produce the SyFy Films feature Paranormalists.

Damian Horan ’12 has been awarded the ASC Andrew Laszlo Student Heritage Award for his cinematography on Josephine and the Roach, the thesis project byJonathan Langager. The film was produced by Josh Tate, Christie Hagenburger, and Damon Stea, edited by Thomas Krueger, and sound designed by Bethany Sparks.

David Klass ’89 has written, and Gary Foster will produce the political thriller Emperor.

Eric Kripke ‘96 will write and executive produce the NBC television drama Revolution. Bryan Burk ‘91 will also executive produce the show.

Michael LeSieur ’00 will write two feature films, Keeping Up With Jones for Parkes/MacDonald, and the American remake of Le Mac for Media Rights Capital and Red Hour Films.

Barry Levy ’96 will write the screenplay for action-thriller 2 for Universal Pictures.

Shawn Levy ‘94 will produce the feature film Fancy Nancy based on the children’s book series.

George Lucas ‘66 received the NAACP Vanguard Award at the 43rd annual Image Awards.

Tina Mabry ’05 and Eric Nazarian ’99 have been selected to participate in the Fox Writers Intensive, a program intended to groom writers with diverse voices and backgrounds for staffing on Fox productions.

Nahomi Maki ‘06 will premier her film, Fossil Tears, in Europe at the Salento International Film Festival (Italy).

Charles Matthau ’86 will write and direct Freaky Deaky, an adaptation of the Elmore Leonard novel, distributed by Entertainment One.

Kevin McCollum ’89 will produce “Motown,” a musical about the origins of the eponymous record label, on Broadway, set to debut Spring 2013.

Neal Moritz ‘85 will produce the action feature film Invertigo.

Steven Quale will direct the feature film Category Six for New Line.

Brad Riddell co-wrote the film Crooked Arrows.

Melissa Rosenberg ‘90 will write and executive produce the ABC drama Penoza.

Charles Roven, through Atlas Entertainment, will produce the feature, The Great Wall.

Shaun Sanghani ’05 will co-produce the indie White Rabbit.

Roger Schroeder ‘87 won a 2012 Daytime Emmy Award for Outstanding Drama Series Writing, as part of the writing staff of Days of our Lives.

Josh Schwartz will executive produce the television drama Cult.

Peter Segal ‘84 will direct action film The Machine for MGM. He will also produce a live-action feature rendition of the manga anime Bleach.

Stacey Sher ’85 will co-produce two feature films, Runner, Runner for New Regency, and A Walk in the Tombstones for Cross Creek and Universal Pictures. She will also produce the comedy feature Get a Job.

Melissa Stack ‘04 will write a feature untitled female revenge comedy for Twentieth Century Fox.

Adam Sztykiel ’00 will write and co-executive produce the ABC comedy Adam Sztykiel Project.

Rawson Thurber ‘99 will direct the New Line comedy We’re the Millers.

Jennifer Todd will co-produce an untitled musical comedy for Universal Pictures and the Mark Gordon Co.

Jon Turteltaub ’97 will direct Last Vegas for CBS Films & Mandate Pictures.

John Wells ‘82will executive produce the FOX comedy series Prodigy Bully. Wells will also executive produce NBC’s female prison drama series Bad Girls.

Jim Whitaker ‘94 produced and directed Rebirth, which was honored this spring with a Peabody Award.

TV Shows

Bryan Burk ‘91, Executive Producer
Athena Wickham ‘02, Producer

American Colony: Meet the Hutterites
Josh Dinner ’05, Co-Creator/Co-Executive Producer

Kyle Killen ‘97, Executive Producer/Writer

Beauty and the Beast
Gary Fleder ’93, Director/Co-Executive Producer

Ben and Kate
Dana Fox ’00, Writer/Co-Executive Producer

Brand X With Russell Brand
Troy Miller, Executive Producer/Director

The Carrie Diaries
Josh Schwartz ’98, Co-Executive Producer

Common Law
Jon Turteltaub ’97, Director/Co-Executive Producer

Jason Ensler ‘97, Director/Co-Executive Producer
Josh Schwartz ’98, Co-Executive Producer

Aaron Kaplan, Executive Producer

The Great Escape
Brian Grazer ’74, Co-Executive Producer
Ron Howard, Co-Executive Producer

Hollywood Exes
Lamar Damon ’84, Executive Producer

The Mob Doctor
Rob Wright ’93, Writer/Co-Executive Producer

Bryan Burke ‘91, Co-Executive Producer
Eric Kripke, Writer/Co-Executive Producer

The River
Zack Estrin, Executive Producer
Michael R. Perry ‘94, Writer

Rizzoli & Isles
Darin Goldberg ’91, Writer/Consulting Producer
Shelley Meals ’91, Writer/Consulting Producer

Save Me
Neal Moritz ‘85, Co-Executive Producer

With Great Power: The Stan Lee Story
Will Hess ‘04, Producer/Director

Films in Release

Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter
Caleb Deschanel ’69, Director of Photography
D.M. Hemphill, Re-Recording Mixer

The Amazing Spider-Man
Kevin Feige ‘95, Co-Executive Producer
John Schwartzman ’00, Director of Photography
Addison Teague ‘02, Supervising Sound Editor
James Vanderbilt ’99, Writer/Story
Laura Ziskin ’73, Producer

The Avengers
Kevin Feige ‘95, Producer
Jeffrey Ford ‘91, Editor

Dark Shadows
John August ’94, Story
Tom Johnson ’81, Re-Recording Mixer

The Dictator
Greg Hayden ’85, Editor

Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance
David S. Goyer ‘88, Writer

John Axelrad ‘90, Editior

Ice Age: Continental Drift
Lori Forte, Producer/Story

Journey 2: The Mysterious Island
Michael Bostick ‘90,Executive Producer
Charlotte Huggins, Producer
Richard Outten ‘84, Story

Megan Ellison, Producer

This Means War
Timothy Dowling ‘96, Writer
DM Hemphill, Re-recording Mixer

To the Arctic
Shaun MacGillivray ‘06, Producer
Stephen Judson ‘71, Writer/Editor

Antonio Negret ’04, Director

The Vow
Jonathan Glickman, Producer
Abby Kohn ‘96, Writer
Marc Silverstein ‘96, Writer

Judd Apatow, Producer