Hot Sheet June/July 2011


Gary Alazraki '01
wrote and will direct an untitled comedy feature shot in Mexico City. The film will be distributed by Universal Pictures Mexico.

John August '94
wrote the musical book Big Fish for the forthcoming Broadway version of August's 2003 screen adaptation.

Ann Biderman '75
will write Showtime's darkly humorous family drama Ray Donovan.

Steve Boman '09
has sold his memoir Film School: The True Story of a Midwestern Family Man Who Went to the World's Most Famous Film School, Fell Flat on His Face, and Sold a Television Series to CBS. The publisher, BenBella Books, will release the book in November 2011.

Scott Derrickson '95
will write and direct an untitled thriller starring Ethan Hawke.

Tim Dowling '96
will executive produce Guidance, a single-camera adult buddy comedy series set in a high school.

Tianran Duan's '11
film Water Moon Mirror Flower was accepted into the Punto y Raya Film Festival in Spain.

Russel Friend '95 and Garrett Lerner '95
will write a drama pilot billed as a modern-day take on Frankenstein for NBC.

Michael Goetz '99 will direct, and Kyle Killen '97 will write the indie drama Scenic Route. Paul Jensen '06 and Brion Hambel '06 of Best Medicine Productions will produce the film.

Phillip Goldfine '86
will produce the feature thriller Breathless.

Al Gough '94 and Miles Millar '94
are negotiating with Summit to direct the adaptation of Homelanders, a young adult book series by Andrew Klavan.

James Gray '91
will direct the feature film The Gray Man.

Adam Hall
directed Sudden Death!, which has won more than 34 awards and is scheduled to be shown at festivals in Beijing, Oaxaca, Canada, Kiev and throughout the U.S.

Ron Howard and Brian Grazer
will executive produce an untitled comedy series starring Sarah Silverman.

Brandon Litman produced and Kyle Ruddick '03 wrote and directed the experimental internet-amassed feature film One Day on Earth.

Neal Moritz '85
will executive produce a single-camera ABC comedy about an entire family finding themselves single at the same time. Moritz is also attached to produce an adaptation of a Soviet-themed sci-fi fantasy comic book series The Red Star for Warner Bros. and the Columbia Pictures comedy feature Road to Nardo.

Thomas Dean Donnelly '94 and Joshua Oppenheimer '94
will write the feature adaptation of Voltron.

Shonda Rhimes '94
will executive produce Gilded Lillys, an ABC drama series set in 19th Century New York.

Arjun Rihan's '08
film Topi (The Cap) will be featured in Visual Communication's first ever animation film festival, POW! WHIZ! BAM!

Michael Ross
will re-write Warner Brothers' futuristic Robin Hood tale.

Charles Roven
will produce the feature film The Great Wall.

Steve Schklair '81
the former CEO of tech provider 3ality Digital will now serve as CEO of the newly combined company 3eality Technica, which will provide an estimated 80% of the technology used in 3D production worldwide.

Jeff Wadlow '01
will write and direct the off-beat detective drama Brickhouse for CBS and CBS TV Studios. Wadlow will also write and executive produce an untitled CIA drama for Fox through Warner Bros. Television; he is also directing Non-Stop, a feature action thriller, for Dark Castle.


The Change-Up
Neal Moritz '85, Producer
Lee Haxall '81, Editor
Greg Hayden, Editor

Melissa Lee '07, Producer

Conan the Barbarian
Thomas Dean Donnelly '95, Writer
Joshua Oppenheimer '94, Writer
Sean Hood '97, Writer

Crazy, Stupid Love
Lee Haxall '81, Editor

Don't Be Afraid of the Dark
Matthew Robbins '76, Writer

Final Destination 5
Steven Quale, Director
Eric Sears, Editor

Fright Night
Mark Stoeckinger '82, Supervising Sound Editor

Jim Whitaker '94, Director

Rise of the Planet of the Apes
Amanda Silver '89, Writer-Producer

Seven Days in Utopia
Jason M. Berman '06, Producer
Michael Jenson '05, Associate Producer
Mick Partridge '08, Associate Producer

The Smurfs
David N. Weiss '87, Writer

Transformers: Dark of the Moon
Don Murphy '88, Producer
Tom DeSanto, Producer
Erik Aadahl '98, Producer

Tucker and Dale vs. Evil
Eli Craig '04, Writer/Director
Morgan Jurgenson '04, Writer
At the Toronto International Film Festival:

The Brooklyn Brothers Beat the Best
Jason M. Berman '06, Producer
Gavin Kelly '04, Director of Photography
Mick Partridge '08, Associate Producer

The Ides of March
Grant Heslov '86, Writer-Producer

Killer Elite
Joni Sighvatsson '85, Producer

Brian Grazer, Producer
Ron Howard, Producer

TV Shows

The Lying Game
Charles Pratt Jr. '78, Executive Producer/Writer

Switched at Birth
John Ziffren '78, Executive Producer